Larrimor's historic journey began in Downtown Pittsburgh with the vision of two men, Harry Slesinger and Larry Morris. Today, their legacy and timeless influence can still be felt by generations of customers, employees, designers and community partners who have been members of Larrimor's extended family throughout our long history.
Individually and collectively, these people represent the foundation of our business success. Through their loyalty and commitment, Larrimor's has endured, flourished and prospered since 1939.
Larrimor's remains Pittsburgh's only retailer to receive Esquire Magazine's "Best of Class" recognition, a prestigious industry honor recognizing exceptional retailers who have endured the test of time and are poised to do so for decades to come.
We couldn't be more proud of our story and our history—both epitomize the stability, longevity and quality that few family-owned, independent retailers in this country ever attain.
History & Heritage
Harry Slesinger and Larry Morris launch Larrimor's in a 1,000-square-foot, one-level storefront in Pittsburgh's Union Trust Building (UTB). Slesinger's expertise in clothing manufacturing and operations unite with Morris's sales experience from Kaufmann's to form a successful business model. American-made men's suits and sportcoats from Philadelphia, New York City, Chicago, Rochester and Baltimore are sold, supported by on-site custom tailoring.
In the early '40's, inventory is severely restricted due to World War II. One (yes, only one) choice of suit is offered at Larrimor's and pant cuffs are prohibited due to fabric rations. Post WWII, Harry Slesinger buys out Larry Morris, expands Larrimor's footprint to 1500 square feet at its 434 Oliver Street location and begins to offer men's furnishings.
The decade starts with DuPont's innovative production of a synthetic fabric called Dacron. A washable Dacron suit is showcased hanging in a tub of water in Larrimor's window display! In 1955, Larrimor's expands at UTB by moving into the former Pennsylvania Railroad Ticket Office (corner of Oliver Street & William Penn Avenue), adds Chicago-based Oxxford to its luxury menswear collection and enters the shoe business with exclusive selections by Frank Brothers.
An enduring commitment to quality and value, and keen eye toward innovative and new fashion, keep the customers coming. So much so that a third UTB expansion is planned and completed. Larrimor's introduces made-to-measure clothing for men alongside a novel photometric process designed to ensure the perfect size and fit. On trend this decade: the bold, funky colors of London's Carnaby Street and Italian handmade designs influenced by the English bespoke tailors of Sevile Row.
As the female workforce grows in size and stature, Larrimor's launches its women's department in response to the increasing need for professional tailored clothing. Women's jackets, skirts and blouses with floppy bow ties are all the rage! Carl Slesinger, Harry's son, assumes leadership of Larrimor's and will remain at the helm for the next three decades.
After leading his family-owned business for over four decades, Harry Slesinger dies in 1983, leaving a legacy of unsurpassed excellence, quality and service that remain to this day. One quarter of UTB's first floor is taken over by Larrimor's as continued growth necessitates a fourth move to a new space at Grant Street and 5th Avenue. Customers gain access to Canali (for men) and Jaeger (for women), two of Europe's premier lines of luxury designer clothing.
In 1992 Larrimor's opens a second store in the Galleria (Mt. Lebanon) where it will remain for over 20 years. An enduring relationship with the Italian fashion house Ermenegildo Zegna is established in 1995. Two years later, Tom and Lisa Slesinger join Larrimor's.
Larrimor’s initiates its fifth and final renovation at UTB in 2001 and replaces Jaeger with its own handpicked selection of women’s designer fashions and accessories. In 2006, its Mt. Lebanon store moves to a new Galleria location and adds women’s clothing to its expansive new space. Esquire magazine names Larrimor’s a “Best of Class” national retailer.
After 70 years in the Union Trust Building, Larrimor’s launches a new decade with a new move to its
current home at One PNC Plaza. The exquisite new custom-built space is 13 times larger than the original 1939 location. Lisa Slesinger and Tom Michael take the helm and become owners of Larrimor’s. The Galleria store closes and Larrimor’s returns to its roots as a one-store destination in Pittsburgh.
Add to Bag—Larrimor’s launches ecommerce website! Co-owner Carl Slesinger retires after 50+ years. We are forever thankful for Carl’s dedication to Larrimor’s.
Larrimor’s celebrates 80 years of innovation, an unwavering commitment to quality, style and our experience tailored to your needs. Thank you for being part of our history and part of our family!